The TLT Group
A Non-Profit Organization
 

TLT Group-ascilite Webinar Series: Reframing e-learning: A Critical Consideration of Some Core Concepts

  • 15 Oct 2009
  • 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
  • [10:00 AM Brisbane, Australia Time] Online location info will be sent via email 2 days prior to Webinar
  • 44

Registration

  • If you are NOT yet an ascilite or TLT Group member, there is a fee for participating in this session.
  • from Individual Membership or Institutional Subscription

Registration is closed

TLT Group-ascilite Webinar Series

Reframing e-learning: A Critical Consideration of Some Core Concepts

This series is co-sponsored and co-produced by the TLT Group and ascilite. This first webinar is free.

There will be two iterations of each webinar to accommodate members of both ascilite and TLT Group. These will be available in two different time zones (Australia, NZ & North America). Archives will also be available online. The duration of the webinars, depending on the topic, will be 1-2 hours.


October 15: Australia, New Zealand and Asia
10:00 a.m. Brisbane [11am Sydney, 1pm New Zealand, 8am Singapore/Hong Kong, 8pm Oct. 14 Washington, D.C.]

Session will be repeated on October 21: U.S. and Canada

Leaders: Mark Nicholls, eLearning Specialist, Laidlaw College, Auckland, NZ, and Steve Ehrmann, TLT Group Vice-President.

This webinar will consider various assumptions that have been made about eLearning practice in higher education, and consider them based on research evidence and a theoretical perspective grounded in formal education. It challenges a number of assumptions beneath what seems to be an established paradigm of thought in the hope of encouraging evidence-based practice.

1.       Setting the scene: the 'broken middle'

2.       Understanding e-learning: paradigm shift vs extension

3.       E-learning and faculty: absorption vs empowerment

4.       Online discussion: community vs cooperation

5.       The Net Gen: promise vs problem

6.       Web 2.0: essential vs irrelevant

7.       Conclusion: enthusiasm vs evidence

© The TLT Group, A Non-Profit Organization
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software